News, News-buzz

‘Get in the Ring’ St Lucia Winners Get Global Exposure

THE St. Lucia Chamber of Commerce, Industry and Agriculture through its two youth programmes, Junior Achievement and the St. Lucia Youth Business Trust hosted the 2017 Get in the Ring (GITR) competition, a beacon activity of Global Entrepreneurship Week (GEW) St Lucia. In collaboration with lead partner, Department of Commerce, the inaugural event saw a multitude of local start-ups coming together to showcase their innovation and battle for the right to represent St Lucia at the global finals in Portugal.

Mr. Patrick Eze of Eze Green Energy Company, producer of biofuel and dishwashing liquid from waste oil emerged victorious and was joined by runner up and Wild Card winner Eco Caribe’s co-founder, Ms. Zainia Pamphile in Cascais, Portugal from the 29th May to 1st June 2018. During the three-day networking and social retreat, the founders got an opportunity to improve their entrepreneurial skills through various training and networking activities with expert mentors and speakers, before pitching to investors and corporate giants. From 150 startups, 6 were selected to participate in the final countdown, where they Get in the Ring to win the Global Title. Overall, it was a great event that showcased innovative startups that have what it takes to compete locally and globally.

Accompanying the two (2) winners were Chamber of Commerce representative Ms. Agnella Joseph and Deputy Chairman of Invest St Lucia, Mr. Jodi Boodhoo and Mrs. Natasha Edwin-Walcott, Manager for Research, Policy Advocacy and Communications.

The Chamber of Commerce express appreciation to the following partners for the financial and technical support which contributed to the staging of a very successful GITR event: The German Savings Bank International Foundation St. Lucia, Invest St. Lucia, 1st National Bank, CIBC/First Caribbean International Bank, Caribbean Cinemas, WLBL, Renwick & Company, Fineline Graphics, Calabash TV, Kerwin Peter, FLOW, Webster Joseph, Patrick Chester, PCD, Mrs. Thecla Deterville, Mrs Esther Browne-Weeks, Mr. Randy Cato and Mr. Crispin D’auvergne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *