Choiseul SLNCA T20 Champs

CHOISEULare the 2016 Saint Lucia National Cricket Association T20 Cup Champions. The west coast team defeated Central Castries by 7 wickets at the Phillip Marcellin Ground in a rain- affected encounter played on Saturday evening under lights.

Batting first, Central Castries were dismissed for 104 in 18.2 overs. LoicProspere top scored with 26 and Alvin Prospere 24.

Bowling for Choiseul, Vince Smith picked up 4 for 24 and Valange St. Ange bagged 2 for 11.

Choiseul’s innings was reduced to 11 overs after two rain interruptions and in a revised target they needed to score 63 to win.

Choiseul reached the required target for the loss of three wickets in 8.3 overs. Junior Henry top scored with 24 and Audy Alexander remained on 12 not out.

Bowling for Central Castries, Alleyne Prospere took 2 for 16.

Vince Smith was adjudged Man of the Match.

Image: MVP of the Tournament Vince Smith (Choiseul).  (Photo: Anthony De Beauville)
MVP of the Tournament Vince Smith (Choiseul). (Photo: Anthony De Beauville)

Awards presented were as follows:
• Scotts Sports and Awards Champions Trophy and Replica – Choiseul,
• 2nd place – Central Castries
• Saint Lucia Civil Service Credit Union sponsored – Most Runs – Sabinus Emmanuel (236)
• Most Wickets -Vince Smith (12)
• Most Catches – CollinusCallender (8)
• Most Dismissals by a wicketkeeper – Jason Simon (9).
• SMJ Beverages sponsored – Most 6’s – Stephen Naitram (14)
• Highest Individual Score – KeitherProspere (97)
• Best Bowling – DishonRampal (5 for 14)
• Nake Sports sponsored – Emerging Player – Rahym Joseph
• Universal Auto Supplies sponsored: Fastest 50 – Valange St. Ange (23 balls)
• Highest Team Total – Soufriere (223 for 6 in 20 versus Vieux Fort South)
• Spice of India sponsored: Man of the Match – Semifinal 1- Stephen Naitram (Central Castries), Man of the Match – Semi-Final 2- Vince Smith (Choiseul)
• Bay Gardens sponsored – Man of the Match – Final – Vince Smith (Choiseul)
• Travel & Leisure sponsored – Tournament MVP – Vince Smith (Choiseul)

Following the conclusion of the tournament, the T20 All Star team was announced. The team was chosen based on the statistical returns of individual players during the just concluded T20 competition.
The team reads as follows:
• Openers – Sabinus Emmanuel, Laborie (236 runs), Stephen Naitram, Central Castries (172 runs).
• Middle Order Batters – Jamaal James, Central Castries (145 runs), Audy Alexander (captain), Choiseul (68 runs), Alleyne Prospere, Central Castries (121 runs),
• Wicketkeeper – Jason Simon, Choiseul (9 dismissals)
• Fast Bowlers – Christian Ange, Mabouya Valley (9 wickets/economy rate 6.89), Kester Charlemagne, South Castries (8 wickets/economy rate 4.55)
• Spinners – Vince Smith, Choiseul (12 wickets/economy 6.64), Dwight Thomas, South Castries (11 wickets/economy rate 5.67)
• All-rounders – Daren Sammy (82 runs and 5 wickets) and Tonius Simon (95 runs and 5 wickets).

Anthony De Beauville is The VOICE Publishing Company’s multi-award winning sports journalist. He works closely with a number of sports federations including the Department of Youth Development and Sports, the Saint Lucia Olympic Committee and other organizations.

He covers and contributes articles highlighting the areas of international, regional, national, community based clubs and schools sporting activities. There is never an off day as he stays busy... Read full bio...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *